Coming Up Roses

I submitted a story a while ago to an anthology I was very keen to get in. The Spectral Book of Horror Stories was superb and has garnered great reviews and award recommendations, with Alison Littlewood’s story ‘The Dog’s Home’ recently winning the Shirley Jackson Award. It is with tremendous pleasure, then, that I can announce I’ll be in the second volume of The Spectral Book of Horror Stories with a piece called ‘Mary, Mary’. It’s about gardening. Sort of. It’s about nature, and nurture, and how the things we dig up are often the same things we buried in the first place. I was overjoyed when editor Mark Morris told me he wanted it for the book, especially as he’d had 800 or so stories submitted, and especially as the first volume had been so bloody good. It’ll be launched at this year’s British Fantasy Convention, with a signing as well I believe. As you can see from the table of contents below, book two will have me sitting and scribbling in some damn fine company. And check out that gorgeous cover by Vincent Chong.

HOUSE OF THE HAG – Paul Finch

FLOTSAM – Tim Lebbon

TOYS FROM THE GINGERBREAD COUNTRY – Richard Jay Goldstein

SUGARED HEAT – Lisa L. Hannett

A GIRL AND HER DOLLS – Adrian Cole

THE LARDER – Nicholas Royle

THE VEILS – Ian Rogers

JOE IS A BARBER – Paul Meloy

LITTLE TRAVELLER – Simon Kurt Unsworth

BEHIND THE WALL – Thana Niveau

MARY, MARY – Ray Cluley

THE MEANTIME – Alison Moore

MARROWVALE – Kurt Fawver

SCRAPING BY – Gary Fry

WHERE THE FOREST ENDS – Sean Logan

WRONG – Stephen Volk

LUMP IN YOUR THROAT – Robert Shearman

HORN OF THE HUNTER – Simon Bestwick

WHO WILL STOP ME NOW? – Cliff McNish

spectral-horror-2_design

You can get hold of volume one (and pre-order volume two) at the Spectral Press site, here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Coming Up Roses

  1. Ross Warren says:

    Richly deserved mate! No better short story writer at the moment in my opinion. Keep it up!

  2. tellmeastorymick says:

    I have book 1. This one has a cover that brings back a horrible dream from when I was 7 where pink gumby like things pulled me into a storm drain. It recurred for many years. I’ll order my copy of this. Congrats on Mary, Mary. Looking forward to reading it.

    • Ray Cluley says:

      Book 1 is great, I think, so I was very happy to get into this one. I hope you like both of them and enjoy ‘Mary, Mary’. That dream sounds horrible, well worth writing down and developing…

      • tellmeastorymick says:

        🙂 I’m not sure I could withstand the developing of the “pink grabbers in the storm drain”. Eeeeeeep! They had this language. I can hear it now. I don’t like it. 😉

Leave a Reply

