Fintastic news: my first award nomination!

Wow, look!


I’m probably supposed to keep calm about it, act cool, dignified, but truth is it’s a VERY big deal to me and I’m bloody thrilled.  I’m short-listed for Best Short Story with ‘Shark! Shark!’ from Black Static (issue 29).  From that same issue, Nina Allan’s wonderful ‘Sunshine’ is also up for the Best Short Story award while Black Static itself is up for Best Magazine/Periodical.

Really happy to see so many people I admire nominated, and double-delighted to be on the same list with them (I feel like I’ve snuck in and nobody’s noticed yet…).  Here’s the full list of nominees:

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

Blood and Feathers, Lou Morgan (Solaris)

The Brides of Rollrock Island, Margo Lanagan (David Fickling Books)

Railsea, China Miéville (Macmillan)

Red Country, Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz)

Some Kind of Fairy Tale, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

The Drowning Girl, Caitlin R. Kiernan (Roc)

The Kind Folk, Ramsey Campbell (PS Publishing)

Last Days, Adam Nevill (Macmillan)

Silent Voices, Gary McMahon (Solaris)

Some Kind of Fairy Tale, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)

Best Novella

Curaré, Michael Moorcock (Zenith Lives!) (Obverse Books)

Eyepennies, Mike O’Driscoll (TTA Press)

The Nine Deaths of Dr Valentine, John Llewellyn Probert (Spectral Press)

The Respectable Face of Tyranny, Gary Fry (Spectral Press)

Best Short Story

Our Island, Ralph Robert Moore (Where Are We Going?) (Eibonvale Press)

Shark! Shark! Ray Cluley (Black Static #29) (TTA Press)

Sunshine, Nina Allan (Black Static #29) (TTA Press)

Wish for a Gun, Sam Sykes (A Town Called Pandemonium) (Jurassic London)

Best Collection

From Hell to Eternity, Thana Niveau (Gray Friar Press)

Remember Why You Fear Me, Robert Shearman (ChiZine Publications)

Where Furnaces Burn, Joel Lane (PS Publishing)

The Woman Who Married a Cloud, Jonathan Carroll (Subterannean Press)

Best Anthology

A Town Called Pandemonium, Anne C. Perry and Jared Shurin (eds) (Jurassic London

Magic: an Anthology of the Esoteric and Arcane, Jonathan Oliver (ed.) (Solaris)

The Mammoth Book of Ghost Stories by Women, Marie O’Regan (ed.) (Robinson)

Terror Tales of the Cotswolds, Paul Finch (ed.) (Gray Friar Press)

Best Small Press (the PS Publishing Independent Press Award)

ChiZine Publications (Brett Alexander Savory and Sandra Kasturi)

Gray Friar Press (Gary Fry)

Spectral Press (Simon Marshall-Jones)

TTA Press (Andy Cox)

Best Non-Fiction

Ansible, David Langford

The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature, Edward James and Farah Mendlesohn (eds) (Cambridge University Press)

Coffinmaker’s Blues, Stephen Volk (Black Static) (TTA Press)

Fantasy Faction, Marc Aplin (ed.) Pornokitsch, Anne C. Perry and Jared Shurin (eds)

Reflections: On the Magic of Writing, Diana Wynne Jones (David Fickling Books)

Best Magazine/Periodical

Black Static, Andy Cox (ed.) (TTA Press)

Interzone, Andy Cox (ed.) (TTA Press)

SFX, David Bradley (ed.) (Future Publishing)

Shadows and Tall Trees, Michael Kelly (ed.) (Undertow Publications)

Best Artist

Ben Baldwin

David Rix

Les Edwards

Sean Phillips

Vincent Chong

Best Comic/Graphic Novel

Dial H, China Miéville, Mateus Santolouco, David Lapham and Riccardo Burchielli (DC Comics)

Saga, Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image Comics)

The Unwritten, Mike Carey, Peter Gross, Gary Erskine, Gabriel Hernández Walta, M.K. Perker, Vince Locke and Rufus Dayglo (DC Comics/Vertigo)

The Walking Dead, Robert Kirkman and Charlie Adlard (Skybound Entertainment/Image Comics)

Best Screenplay

Avengers Assemble, Joss Whedon

Sightseers, Alice Lowe, Steve Oram and Amy Jump

The Cabin in the Woods, Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)

Alison Moore, for The Lighthouse (Salt Publishing)

Anne Lyle, for The Alchemist of Souls (Angry Robot)

E.C. Myers, for Fair Coin (Pyr)

Helen Marshall, for Hair Side, Flesh Side (ChiZine Publications)

Kim Curran, for Shift (Strange Chemistry)

Lou Morgan, for Blood and Feathers (Solaris)

Molly Tanzer, for A Pretty Mouth (Lazy Fascist Press)

Saladin Ahmed, for Throne of the Crescent Moon (Gollancz)

Stephen Bacon, for Peel Back the Sky (Gray Friar Press)

Stephen Blackmoore, for City of the Lost (Daw Books)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fintastic news: my first award nomination!

  1. stevenjdines says:

    Massive congratulations, Ray, and best of luck to you.

  2. Ilan Lerman says:

    Congratulations, Ray! I loved this line you wrote – ‘(I feel like I’ve snuck in and nobody’s noticed yet…)’ – I feel that way whenever someone publkishes a story of mine. I keep thinking, “But surely someone will notice that I don’t have a clue what I’m doing?”

  3. Michael Kelly says:

    Congratulations, Ray! Well deserved!

  4. Ray- I’ve just seen this! Well done!! I loved this story and am chuffed to bits that you’re getting the recognition that you deserve for it.

  5. Ross Warren says:

    Congrats on the win mate! Thoroughly well deserved!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s