One is always nearer by not keeping still

Thom Gunn said that, in his poem ‘On the Move’.  It’s been playing in my mind a lot just lately, that line.  Maybe because the new year has well and truly started now, I’ve become rather reflective on what I’ve achieved so far and what I hope to achieve.  Sometimes it gets me down, other times I’m a tad more positive – it all depends on my mood (and how well the writing’s going that day).

Last year I (only) managed to get eight stories published, with a couple more accepted for a later release.  The (only) is mood dependant, as I said.  I’m proud of them.  I hope that’s not vain, but I am.  A lot of work went into each one.  ‘Fata Morgana’ was massive, with a lot of world building that didn’t make it into the final story (though I’ve a follow-up planned).  ‘Night Fishing’ was difficult in a different way, quite personal and emotionally hard to write.  ‘Bloodcloth’ saw more revisions than any of my stories to date – how much to explain, how much to show, how much to just let be – and in the end I risked leaving a lot up to the reader.  I’m glad, because that was what the story needed.

My point is that each story I write demands a lot from me in different ways, even if that demand is a little silly – ‘Waste Disposal’ was me responding to someone’s challenge to write about something that really grosses me out and I think I typed the whole thing with a wrinkled nose.  So to speak.  I should probably fix that sentence but I like the image of bashing at the keyboard with my face – it seems both funny and strangely appropriate.

This year I’m finding the whole writing experience even harder.  I think that’s a good thing.  I think it means I’m pushing myself more.  Not just to get more out there, in more places, but to write more challenging stories.  Sometimes that’s good and I can go to bed (eventually) rather pleased with myself.  Other times it slows me right the fuck down and I get barely anything done and that can be quite depressing.  But even that can be a good thing too, sometimes: ‘Shark! Shark!’ was me having a break, cutting loose, having a bit of fun without thinking about where the story would go, and it ended up getting some great feedback (not always, but I won’t point you to those reviews).  I even tried my hand at flash fiction and that was just as tough as I thought it would be.  I’m pretty sure I broke the rules a little with ‘A Mother’s Blood’ and ‘The Rain Deer’ regarding length, but I’m glad I challenged myself.

As hard as this writing business is, it’s also the best profession/pursuit/dream I’ve ever had.  I don’t know if I’ll get to where I want to go, but I know I’ll only get closer by not keeping still.  Not like those motorcyclist’s in Gunn’s poem, but like a shark – I’d die if I stopped.  Too much?  Maybe.  True though.

So into the darkness I go, like Robert on that train in ‘All Change’, moving forward with my monsters.  Sometimes they’re glad to see me, other times…not so much.

Eight stories to beat.  Wish me luck.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to One is always nearer by not keeping still

  1. Michael Kelly says:

    Good luck! I only had 4 stories published last year, and it’s looking like the same this year.

    • Ray Cluley says:

      You’ve an awesome track record though, and look at all that great work with Shadows & Tall Trees (and all those fungus stories you had to read!) – that’s gotta take up a lot of time.

  2. debs says:

    It sounds like you’re in a good place writing wise. Enjoy. And good luck.

  3. Ilan Lerman says:

    Hi, Ray. What you said about – “This year I’m finding the whole writing experience even harder. I think that’s a good thing. I think it means I’m pushing myself more” – resonated with me a lot. I had one story published in 2011 and was incredibly proud of it, but afterwards it took so much out of me that I felt as though I was always struggling to push myself harder and harder. Consequently it crippled me creatively and I didn’t write much for the first half of last year, but since then I’ve had a resurgence and while I still have those moments where it also slows me right down, I think I’m getting a better handle on how to deal with it.

    Your stories are always compelling. Good luck! I’m looking forward to what you’ll produce this year.

    • Ray Cluley says:

      I’m glad it resonated Ilan. Not sure why I wrote it, it was a spontaneous blog, and I don’t usually share things like that, but I’m glad I did for reasons like that. Reassuring to know others experience the same, especially as the writing job is a rather isolated one. For what it’s worth, I really enjoyed ‘Love As Deep As Bones’, beautifully written.

  4. karswell says:

    It’s quality, not quantity that counts Ray and you have that in abundance. A bit trite I know but true nonetheless. I’ve waxed lyrical about Night Fishing on many occasions so won’t embarrass you further by doing the same again here and I can say with no fear of contradiction that Waste Disposal is the best story ever written about a golem made of shit. You’re carving out a reputation for yourself and I can only see your writing – and career as a writer – going from strength to strength. I look forward to following your progress…

    • Ray Cluley says:

      Thanks Anthony. I’ve realised the blog may have sounded more woe-is-me than intended, but I appreciate your comments. I’m especially fond of “the best story ever written about a golem made of shit”. Ha! I hope so. My least pleasant piece, I think.

Leave a Reply

