“Why not go out on a limb?”

Today I did something that’s either very brave, or very foolish…

I reduced my hours from full-time teaching to part-time.  Cut them in half, actually.

It’s so I can devote more time to writing.  I enjoy my job (mostly) and I work with some great people (teachers and students) but I worry more and more that I will become a teacher who wanted to be a writer once.  A “those who can’t, teach” kinda guy.  And that’s a horrible thought.

Maybe I can’t.  But I’d like to try.  It’s not about financial success, about swapping one job for another – I know it’s difficult to make writing pay if your name isn’t King or Rowling.  All I’m doing is buying myself some time to write the novel I’ve been ‘preparing’ for too long now.  And if nothing comes of it, well, at least I don’t have to rely on a “coulda woulda shoulda” excuse for why I never wrote it in the first place.

“Why not go out on a limb?  Isn’t that where the fruit is?”  That’s what Frank Scully said, and he gave Dana Scully her surname so it must be good advice.  I only hope the fruit I find is worth sharing with others.

(Frank Scully might not have said it, he might have written it – I don’t know, and Google doesn’t want me to know at the moment.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Why not go out on a limb?”

  1. Michael Kelly says:

    Wow, big changes, Ray. Best of luck with it!

  2. Ray Cluley says:

    Thanks – it’s a little scary, but fear is good, right?

  3. Cate Gardner says:

    Very brave but I’m certain it will work out for you.

  4. C x says:

    Glad to here this. Good luck, not that you’ll need it x

Leave a Reply

